Broadband Council Member

A- A A+

Broadband Council Member

Categories: News

Lauren Schoenfeld of Sweetwater County YWCA appointed to new Broadband Advisory Council

WYOMING — The Wyoming Business Council Board of Directors selected 11 members Thursday for the new Broadband Advisory Council.   The Wyoming Legislature created the Advisory Council during its 2018 session to expand broadband opportunities to unserved areas of the state.

Advisory Council members will provide advice and make recommendations to the Business Council on inventorying current broadband availability, developing best practices for efficiently expanding broadband services, and ensuring state and local policies are conducive to development of broadband services.

The Business Council will develop an inventory of data on statewide service availability, map broadband speeds and receive approval for a broadband enhancement plan by Sept. 1.   Appointed members come from varied backgrounds and live in different areas throughout the state.

The 11 members are:

Zane Logan, city administrator, Powell
Ashley Harpstreith, Goshen County Economic Development, Torrington
Chad Rupe, USDA Rural Development, Douglas
Randy Miller, Cheyenne Regional Medical Center, Cheyenne
Lauren Schoenfeld, Sweetwater County YWCA, Rock Springs
Patrick Adam Lawson, Northern Arapaho Tribal Industries, Riverton
Barbara Sessions, Silver Star Communications, Afton
Erik Rasmussen, Charter Communications, Cheyenne
Doug Wilson, Powder River Energy Corporation, Sundance
Tyler Vasko, Eastern Wyoming College, Torrington
Tony Young, State Chief Information Officer, Cheyenne
State Rep. Albert Sommers, of Pinedale, and State Sen. Dan Dockstader, of Star Valley, are legislative liaisons to the Advisory Council.

To learn more about the Broadband Council click here.